conference 2020

ICPerMed Recognition

ICPerMed features and honours best practices in personalised medicine research through the ICPerMed Recognition 2020 that aims to recognise, encourage, promote and disseminate outstanding examples. The third ICPerMed Recognition edition was open to candidates worldwide, who have published scientific papers or developed best practice strategies in the field of personalised medicine.


Recognition 2020 - speakers

The following winners will present their results during a dedicated plenary session (26/02/21 – 13h-14h):

Maritha Kotze, Department of Pathology, Stellenbosch University and National Health Laboratory Service – NHLS - Tygerberg Hospital, South Africa. For more information about Maritha.

Daniela Gallo, Sacro Cuore Cattolica University, Italy. For more information about Daniela.

Daryl Pritchard, Science Policy at PMC, USA. For more information about Daryl.

Winfried Schlee, University Regensburg, Germany. For more information about Winfried.


Recognition 2020 - Posters

ICPerMed will also offer to the following authors a stage to present their work with a poster. Participants to the ICPerMed virtual conference will have the possibility to consult the posters and ask for an individual presentation through a private visioconference tool all along the conference.


Philipp Hofer

On behalf of the Board of the Austrian Platform for Personalized Medicine Medical University of Vienna, Austria

Poster title:
Connecting the Austrian PerMed Community: The Austrian Platform for Personalized Medicine

(More information about Philipp coming soon)


Yvonne Bombard

University of Toronto & St. Michael’s Hospital, Canada

Poster title:
Health outcomes, utility and costs of returning incidental results from genomic sequencing in a Canadian cancer population: protocol for a mixed-methods randomized controlled trial

Dr. Bombard is a genomics health services researcher and Scientist at the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michael’s Hospital. She is an Associate Professor at the University of Toronto in the Institute of Health Policy Management and Evaluation.  Her research evaluates the adoption of new genomic technologies in clinical practice, including digital/virtual tools. She conducts public and patient engagement to advance health technology assessment and health service delivery. She advises numerous international policy initiatives; her research informs policy development in this area. Dr. Bombard was the inaugural recipient of the Maurice McGregor Award for Demonstrated Excellence and Leadership Potential from the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) and also received a ‘Rising Star’ award from CIHR’s Institute of Health Services and Policy Research. She has been awarded a CIHR Foundation grant as an Early Career Investigator, and a CIHR New Investigator Award. Dr. Bombard holds Fellowships from Yale University (in Health Policy), Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center (in Cancer Genomics) and the University of Toronto (in Health Services Research).


Ofra Benny

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Poster title:
Cell “Mechanomics” - a novel approach for cancer diagnosis and personalized therapy

Prof. Ofra Benny is the Head of the Lab for Nanomedicine and the Tumor Microenvironment at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Her Team focuses on nanomedicine, 3D printing and microfluidics for drug delivery and diagnostics in cancer. Prof. Benny is an Horizon2020 ERC starting grant awardee for her research in mechanical targeting of nanoparticles as an approach for personalized therapy in cancer. Her research lead to many patents as well as translation towards clinical usage. Her publications in the field of biomedicine include major journals such as Nature Biotechnology (journal cover), Science Advances, JCI, and more and her work was cited more than 1400 times. Before joining the Hebrew university Ofra was an Instructor at Harvard Medical School as well as a research associate at the Boston Children’s Hospital.  She did her postdoctoral training at Harvard Medical School – Boston Children’s Hospital in Judah Folkman’s Lab. 


Eva Winkler

University Heidelberg, Germany

Poster title:

(More information about Eva coming soon)


Leticia Ferro Leal

Barretos Cancer Hospital, Brasil

Poster title:
Reproducibiity of the Nanostring 22-gene molecular subgroup assay for improved prognostic prediction of medulloblastoma

(More information about Leticia coming soon)